It’s that time again!
Time for the leaves to turn bright orange and red, the air to carry a
lovely crispness, and the woodland creatures to fatten themselves up for the
dark cold months ahead.
Except that this is Florida, where you’re lucky to see a
leaf be any other color but lush green, the crispness in the air lasts about as
long as a French fry in styrofoam, and the woodland creatures maintain their
diet of whatever-the-hell-they-want.
So, the atmosphere may be lacking, but the calendar does not
lie- it’s October, which means Scary Movie Month for me and Joe.
Over the years we have seen most everything, from classic
(“Psycho”) to camp (“Sleepaway Camp”, that is).
While the vast majority has been mediocre and forgettable, there are a
select few that I would single out as being all-around great movies. “Jaws” comes to mind, which we watched about
four years ago. The complexity of the
characters entangled together in a situation that tested their boundaries,
combined with phenomenal acting and story-telling, made this a movie I find
myself stopping to watch every time it happens to be on TV.
Yet, for every “Jaws”, there are at least a few
mind-meltingly bad horror movies. These
are the ones that stick in my brain, not because they were particularly scary or good,
but because they were so weird, unpleasant, or downright cheesy that I find
myself having a hard time shaking them.
In no particular order, these are my Top Worst Unwatchable
Scary Movies:
Antichrist (2009)
Thought seeing Willem Dafoe having sex in the shower would
be hot? Yeah, me either. And if that doesn’t do it for you, the
genital mutilation will certainly give you that queasy horrified look on your
face. (Definitely not recommended for
first dates.) There were some really gorgeous shots, but the pace was so slow
it made the rest of the movie unbearable.
The Skin I Live In (2011)
Things that make you go….huh? While I can appreciate this Spanish film for
its gorgeous cinematography and Antonio Banderas’ acting skills, this was still
a movie that was just a little too weird to “get”. I don’t want to give away too much just in
case you find yourself on a Netflix safari looking for a new movie to
watch. Let’s just say, guy gets girl, guy
loses girl, guy gets girl…and guy?
Re-Animator (1985)
Based off a novella by H. P. Lovecraft, this movie had
plenty of hokey campy gory moments that gave it an almost humorous charm. I could’ve easily seen this as a selection
for an episode of "Mystery Science Theater 3000".
That is, until the scene where the love interest is kidnapped and tied to a table by a headless doctor. Although there is a head (and then some). Yeah. Once again, suffice it to say this is
also not a great choice for a first date. Unless you and your date are into this kind of thing.
The Monster Squad (1987)
You know, it’s possible that I just missed the boat on this
one. It came out when I was a kid, but
never seeing it back then means I never established a sense of nostalgia, and therefore
forgiveness for it. Seeing it now, with
fresh adult eyes, the immense cheesiness just bored and aggravated me, and left
me missing the childhood movies of MY past.
Goonies, this is not.
The Lawnmower Man (1992)
So, I’m not going to lie- I never actually finished watching
this one. I became so lost and
distracted that my attention just sort of fell away. I’m not sure if it was the tedious plot or
the over-acting, the technological hyper-babble, or maybe it was the Dire
Straits, “Money for Nothing”-like animation made horrific that just pushed me
off the couch. I’m sure to some this is a classic. But for me it just stands as a classic punch line for a bad movie.
So how about you?
Seen any epically bad horror movies lately? Let’s share the pain together. (Wow, that almost sounds like something a villain in one of these bad movies might say)





Cheesy horror films are about the only ones I can handle! ππ
ReplyDelete